Buhari meets Osinbajo, seven APC governors in Aso Rock

Buhari meets Osinbajo, seven APC governors in Aso Rock
March 12 20:29 2019

By Nasir Kura

President Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday met behind close-doors with Vice President Yemi Osinbajo and six governors elected on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The meeting was held at the Presidential Villa in Abuja shortly after the president returned to the seat of power after participating in the governorship and State Assemblies election in Daura, Katsina state, which was held on Saturday, March 9, 2019.

Governors that attended the meeting are Mr Yahaya Bello of Kogi state, Mr Nasiru Ahmed El-Rufai of Kaduna state, Mr Atiku Bagudu of Kebbi state, Mr Abdulaziz Yari of Zamfara state, Mr Abubakar Badaru of Jigawa state, Mr Kassim Shetima of Borno state and Mr Fayemi Kayode of Ekiti state.

No official statement was issued on what transpired at the meeting, but presidential sources told Blueprint that the governors were at the State House to congratulate the president on his reelection and share thoughts on the fate of the APC on states where elections were declared inconclusive by the electoral umpire – the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

INEC had declared the March 9 governorship elections inconclusive in Plateau, Adamawa, Bauchi, Benue, Sokoto and Kano states. The commission had also suspended electoral processes in respect of governorship election and Rivers state.