Buhari nominates 27 INEC Resident Electoral Commissioners

Buhari nominates 27 INEC Resident Electoral Commissioners
March 24 09:36 2017

President Muhammadu Buhari has nominated 27 Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

In a letter read by the President of the Senate, Dr Abubakar Bukola Saraki, on Thursday, the President seeks confirmation of the nominees in compliance with the provision of the section 14(3)(a) of the Third Schedule to the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended).


  1. Godswill Obioma, Abia (new appointment)
  2. Ibrahim Abdullahi, Adamawa (new appointment)
  3. Ahmed Makama, Bauchi (reappointment)
  4. James Apam, Benue (new appointment)
  5. Mike Igini, Delta (reappointment)
  6. Nwachukwu Orji, Ebonyi (new appointment)
  7. Iloh Chuks, Enugu (new appointment)
  8. Hussaini Pai, FCT (reappointment)
  9. Sadiq Musa, Kaduna (reappointment)
  10. Jibrin Zarewa, Kano (reappointment)
  11. Asmau Maikudi, Katsina (new appointment)
  12. Mahmuda Isah Kebbi (new appointment)
  13. Samuel Egwu, Kogi (new appointment)
  14. Rufus Akeju, Lagos (reappointment)
  15. Mustapha Zubairu, Niger (new appointment)
  16. Agboke Olaleke, Ogun (new appointment)
  17. Sam Olumekun, Ondo (reappointment)
  18. Abdulganiyu Raji, Oyo (new appointment)
  19. Riskuwa Shehu, Sokoto (new appointment)
  20. Kasim Geidam, Yobe (reappointment)
  21. Bello Mahmud, Zamfara (new appointment)
  22. Nentawe Yilwada, Plateau (new appointment)
  23. Umar Ibrahim, Taraba (new appointment)
  24. Emeka Joseph, Imo (new appointment)
  25. Obo Effanga, Cross River (new appointment)
  26. Francis Ezeonu, Anambra (new appointment)
  27. Briyai Frankland, Bayelsa (new appointment).