Osinbajo swears-in 5 NPC commissioners

Osinbajo swears-in 5 NPC commissioners
February 01 15:02 2017

Acting President Yemi Osinbajo on Wednesday swore-in five commissioners of the National Population Commission (NCP) as the country prepares for census next year.

The commissioners, earlier cleared by the Senate, are Eyitayo Oyetunji from Oyo state, Ukpom Ukpong from Akwa Ibom state Haliru Bala from Kebbi state, Patricia Uche from Benue state and Gloria Izonfuo from Bayelsa state.

The swearing-in ceremony took place before at the Council Chamber of State House shortly before the commencement of the Federal Executive Council.

The new NPC commissioners  were nominated by President Muhammadu Buhari last year in line with Section 154 (1) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended.

The planned national census was initially scheduled to take place in 2016 with a budgetary proposal of about N222 billion, but was rescheduled for 2017 and later moved to 2018 due o lack of funds.

The last census was conducted in 1996.