Osinbajo inaugurates National Road Safety Advisory Council

Osinbajo inaugurates National Road Safety Advisory Council
February 16 19:40 2017

Acting President Yemi Osinbajo on Thursday inaugurated the National Road Safety Advisory Council.

The committee was inaugurated shortly before the commencement of the National Economic Council (NEC) meeting at the Presidential Villa in Abuja.

The committee, chaired by the Vice President, has Governor Akinwunmi Ambode (Lagos) for the South West, Governor Willie Obiano (Anambra) for South East, Governor Ifeanyi Okowa (Delta) for South South, Governor Abdulfatah Ahmed (Kwara) for North Central, Governor Ibrahim Dankwabo (Gombe) for North East and Governor Ahmed El-Rufai (Kaduna) for North West as members.

Other members of the committee are Minister of Information and Culture, Mr. Lai Mohammed; Minister of Budget and National Planning, Mr. Udo Udoma; Minister of Finance, Mrs Kemi Adeosu; Minister of Transportation, Mr. Rotimi Amaechi; Minister Labour and Employment, Mr. Chris Ngige; Minister of Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Mr. Mohammed Bello; Minister of Power, Works and Housing, Mr. Babatunde Raji Fashola and the Minister of State for Health, Mr. Osagie Ehanire.

Speaking on behalf of members of the committee, Governor Ibrahim Dankwabo of Gombe state assured the federal government that the council would deliver on its mandate.

Speaking to State House correspondents, the Corps Marshal of Federal Road Safety Commission (FRSC), Mr. Boboye Oyeyemi said the inauguration was in line with the United Nation’s Decade of Action for Road Safety  2011-2020.

He commended the federal government for equipping the corps with N3 billion worth of vehicles and life-saving ambulances, stressing that the FRSC would be at par with global standards.