INEC declares APC winner of yobe by-election

INEC declares APC winner of yobe by-election
August 08 08:52 2016

The Independent National
Electoral Commission (INEC) on
Sunday declared Zannah Bunu of
the All Progressives Congress
(APC) winner of the by-election
for Gulani state constituency of

This is contained in a statement
issued by Bagudu Nma,
Information Officer of the
commission in Damaturu.
It stated that Bunu polled 6,488
votes to beat Isa Babayaro of the
Peoples Democratic Party (PDP),
who scored 1,623 votes.

NAN reports that the by-election
was conducted on Saturday
following the election of Abdu
Kukuwa to the House of
Representatives to replace Khadija
Abba Ibrahim who was appointed
minister in the federal cabinet.
NAN also reports that APC still
maintains a lead of 24 legislators
against PDP’s one member in the
state assembly.