Buhari appoints Tinubu’s aide, others as NCC Commissioners

Buhari appoints Tinubu’s aide, others as NCC Commissioners
August 03 10:44 2016

President Muhammadu Buhari
has asked the Senate to
confirm nominees into positions
of Chairman, Executive
Commissioner, and Non-Executive
Commissioners of Nigerian 
Communications Commission

In a letter dated August 2, 2016,
sent to  Senate, President, Dr
Bukola Saraki, President Buhari
 nominated Olabiyi Durojaiye as 
chairman of the commission.

Durojaiye, a former senator,
 is to represent the South West.

The President also nominated
Sunday Dare as the NCC’s
Executive Commissioner,
Stakeholders Management.

Dare will also represent the
south west. He is an aide to a
former Lagos State governor, Bola

Those nominated as Non-
Executive Commissioners are:
Aliyu Sa’idu Abubakar (North
East), Clement Omeiza Baiye
(North Central), Okoi Ofem Obono
Obla (South South), Ezekiel Yissa
(North Central) and Ifeanyi
Ararume (South East).

According to a statement by Presidential spokesman, Femi Adesina: “The nominations are in
accordance with Section 8(1) of
the Nigerian Communications
Commission Act 2003,”