Saraki woos pro-Lawan lawmakers with juicy committee positions

Saraki woos pro-Lawan lawmakers with juicy committee positions
July 21 21:29 2016

Senate President, Dr Bukola Saraki has commenced moves to woo senators who are opposed to his leadership of the National Assembly.

Saraki who announced a reshuffle of committee positions on Thursday, gave juicy positions to some key supporters of his opponent, Senator Ahmed Lawan who are members of the ‘Unity Forum’.

Senator Kabiru Marafa, was moved from National Population to chair the Petroleum (Downstream) Committee.

In the same vein, Senator Oluremi Tinubu, former chairman Women Affairs Committee now heads the Environment Committee.

Saraki who announced the new appointments at plenary, said it was due to decisions made during some executive sessions.

Senator Suleiman Hunkuyi, is now as chairman, Senate Committee on National Identity; Senator Daura Tijani, Committee on Federal Character; Babajide Omoworare, Legislative Compliance while Senator Binta Masi-Garaba, heads Women Affairs.

Others are Senator Joshua Dariye, who is now chairman Committee on Procurement, Senator James Manager, chairs Solid Minerals Committee while Enyinnaya Abaribe heads Committee on Power.

The new Committee Chairmen are:

1) Senator Hope Uzodinma, Chairman, Senate Committee on Customs

2) Senator Adamu Aliero, Chairman Senate Committee on Aviation

3) Senator Oluremi Tinubu, Chairman, Senate Committee on Environment

4) Senator Kabiru Marafa, Chairman, Senate Committee on Downstream Petroleum

5) Senator Jibrin Barau, Chairman, Senate Committee on Tertiary Institutions and TETFUND

6) Senator Binta Marsi Garba, Chairman, Senate Committee on Women Affairs

7) Senator Joshua Dariye, Chairman, Senate Committee on Public Procurement

8) Senator James Manager, Chairman, Senate Committee on Solid Minerals

9) Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe, Chairman, Senate Committee on Power

10) Senator Hunkuyi Suleiman, Chairman, Senate Committee on National Identity

11) Senator Suleiman Adokwe, Chairman, Senate Committee on National Orientation and Information

12) Senator Jide Omoworare, Chairman, Senate Committee on Legislative Compliance

13) Senator Baba Kaka Garbai, Chairman, Senate Committee on Rules and Business

14) Senator Tijani Kaura, Chairman, Senate Committee on Federal Character

15) Senator Ahmed Ogembe, Vice-Chairman, Senate Committee on Marine Transport

16) Senator Omo Agege, Vice-Chairman, Senate Committee on Land Transport

17) Senator Philip Aduda, Vice-Chairman, Senate Committee on Downstream Petroleum