Buhari removes Kachiku as GMD of NNPC, appoints Maikanti Baru

Buhari removes Kachiku as GMD of NNPC, appoints Maikanti Baru
July 04 18:26 2016

President Muhammadu Buhari has removed Dr Ibe Kachikwu as the Group Managing Director of the Nigeria National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC).

According to a statement by his spokesman, Femi Adesina, the President also approved the appointment of  Dr Maikanti Kacalla Baru as his replacement.

The statement also announced the composition of the board of the NNPC, as provided for under Section 1(2) of the corporation’s Act of 1997, as amended.

Until his appointment, Dr. Baru was the Group Executive Director, Exploration and Production of the NNPC.

Kachikwo who retained his position as Minister of State for Petroleum was also appointed Chairman of the new NNPC board.

The new board is composed of the following:

  1. Chairman-Dr Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu, Honourable Minister of State for Petroleum;
  2. Group Managing Director- Dr Maikanti Kacalla Baru;
  3. The Permanent Secretary of the Federal Ministry of Finance; and
  4. The following six persons:
  5. Mallam Abba Kyari
  6. Dr Thomas M.A John
  7. Dr Pius O. Akinyelure
  8. Dr Tajuddeen Umar
  9. Mallam Mohammed Lawal, and
  10. Mallam Yusuf Lawal.

President Buhari urged the new board to ensure the successful delivery of the mandate of the NNPC, ” and serve the nation by upholding the public trust placed on them in managing this critical national asset.”