Buhari nominates Eko, Augie as Supreme Court justices

Buhari nominates Eko, Augie as Supreme Court justices
July 21 20:13 2016

President Muhammadu Buhari has sent the names of Hon.
Justices Ejembi Eko and Amina Augie to the Senate for screening and confirmation as Justices of
the Supreme Court.

Buhari in a letter to Senate President Bukola Saraki
explained that the two nominees will represent North-
central and North-west respectively.

“In accordance with Section 231
subsection (1) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal
Republic of Nigeria, as amended, I have the pleasure to
forward for your confirmation, the nomination of the
two nominees as Justices of the Supreme Court of
Nigeria,” the President’s letter read in part.

Also yesterday at Plenary, Saraki read
a letter from President Buhari seeking the screening
and approval of names of former Senate Leader,
Victor Ndoma-Egba and 18 others as chairman and board members respectively
of Niger Delta Development Commission

In the letter, President Buhari pleaded with the Senate
to give the request an expeditious consideration and
confirmation of the NDDC board of directors’ nominees.

Besides Senator Egba who hails from Cross River state,
others appointed by the President are  Nsima Udo
Ekere who is to serve as the Managing Director of the

He hails from Akwa Ibom state. Adjogbe Ajenakevwe is
to serve as executive director in charge of projects and
hails from Delta state. Mene Ienyie Derek, executive
director is to head finance and administration and hails
from Rivers state.

Other board members are Donatus Enyinnah (Abia
state), Frank Samuel George (Akwa Ibom state);
Brambaifa Nelson (Bayelsa state); Sylvester Effefiom
Nsa (Cross River state); Ogaga Ifowodo (Delta state);
Uwuilekhue Saturday (Edo state) and Osita
Bonaventure Izunaso (Imo state).
Olatokunbo Ayotunde Ajasin (Ondo state); Harry
Iboroma Dabibi (Rivers state); Bernard Banfa (North-
central zone); Yahaya Mohammed (North-east zone);
Mustapha Dankadai (North-west zone); Igo Weli (Niger
Delta region); Mahmoud Isa-Dutse (Federal Ministry of
Finance) and Abdul-Kazeem Kasumi Bayero (Federal
Ministry of Environment) also formed  the list.

The consideration and subsequent confirmation of the
nominees will be done when the Senate resumes from
its 6-week break in September, 2016.