Hogson names youngsters, Rashford, Ali in 26-man provisional squad

Hogson names youngsters, Rashford, Ali in 26-man provisional squad
May 17 09:23 2016

Ahead of the upcoming Euro 2016, England manager, Roy Hogson has named a provisional squad of 26 players for the friendly games the Three Lions will play in the coming days.

Manchester United 18-year-old wonderkid, Marcus Rashford, Tottenham Hotspurs’ 21- year-old star, Dele Ali and Newcastle’s Andros Townsend were all named in the squad.

While the three youngsters impressed during the season, Theo Walcott, Phil Jagielka, and Mark Noble had indifferent seasons and missed out. Jermaine Defoe was however a surprising absentee.

All 24 teams have until 31 May to submit their 23-man squads for Euro 2016, which is being held in France from 10 June to 10 July.

Hodgson’s 26-man squad features two players from champions Leicester City – striker Jamie Vardy and Danny Drinkwater – while Tottenham, who finished third, and Liverpool both provide five players.

England begin their Group B campaign against Russia on 11 June, before facing Wales (16 June) and Slovakia (20 June).

They warm up for the tournament with matches against Turkey (22 May), Australia (27 May) and Portugal (2 June).

Three of the players will be dropped on or before 31st of May. Analysts are already pointing at Rashford, Henderson and Wilshere as the players who may not make the final 23-man squad.

The Squad

Goalkeepers: Joe Hart (Manchester City), Fraser Forster (Southampton), Tom Heaton (Burnley).

Defenders: Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Chris Smalling (Manchester United), John Stones (Everton), Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur), Ryan Bertrand (Southampton), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), Nathaniel Clyne (Liverpool).

Midfielders: Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur), Ross Barkley (Everton), Fabian Delph (Manchester City), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Danny Drinkwater (Leicester City), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Liverpool), James Milner (Liverpool), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Andros Townsend (Newcastle United), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal).

Strikers: Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Jamie Vardy (Leicester City), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United).