Dickson wins re-election

Dickson wins re-election
January 10 21:56 2016

The incumbent governor and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Seriake Dickson has defeated All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Timipre Sylva in the keenly contested Bayelsa gubernatorial poll.

The election was earlier conducted on the 5th of December, 2015 but several cases of irregularities and violence forced the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to cancel the entire results in Southern Ijaw Local Government Area and parts of other LGAs and fixed a supplementary election for Saturday, January 9, 2016.

After counting was completed on Sunday and with the results of all the LGAs announced by INEC, Dickson scored a total of 134,998 votes to beat Sylva, who scored 86,852 votes.

Below is the final result of the election as announced by the Returning Officer, Zana Akpagbu:

Total registered voters


Accredited voters


Votes earned by political parties

ACPN 128

ADC 173

APA 578

APC 86852

APGA 178

CPP 60

DPC 189

DPP 231

ID 20


LP 76



PDC 135

PDM 1572

PDP 134998

PPA 221

PPN 14

SDP 17

UPP 12

Total valid votes 225520

Rejected votes 6647

Total votes cast 232167