Aubameyang wins 2015 African player of the year

Aubameyang wins 2015 African player of the  year
January 08 00:48 2016

Borrusia Dortmund’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang has won the 2015 Glo/CAF African player of the year award.

The Gabonese striker defeated Manchester City’s Yaya Toure and Swansea City’s Andre Ayew who had excellent years of their own.

Aubameyang has been one of Europa’s best strikers this season scoring twenty seven goals in twenty seven games in all competitions.

Yaya Toure was named second best player while Andre Ayew was named thrid best player.

In a colourful ceremony held in Abuja, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang became the first player from the German league to be crowned African footballer of the Year.

Other awards won:

The national team of the year – Cote D’Ivoire

The Women’s national team of the year – Cameroon

Fair play award – Allez Casa of Senegal

Club of the year – TP Mazembe

Most promising talent – Etebo Oghenakoro (Nigeria)

The coach of the year award – Herve Renard (France), former coach of Cote D’Ivoire who won AFCON 2015.

Women’s player of the year award – Gaelle Enganamouit (Cameroon)

Referee of the year – Papa Bakary Gassama (Gambia)

African legends award – Charles Kumi Gyami (Ghana) and Samuel Mbappe Leppe (Cameroon)

The Leader of the year award – Abdiqani Said Arab (Somalia)

African player of the year based in Africa – Mbwana Samatta (Tanzania)

Platinum award – Muhammadu Buhari, the President of Nigeria

African XI: Robert Kidiba, Serge Aurier, Aymen Abdennour, Mohammed Meftah, Andre Ayew, Yaya Toure, Saido Mane, Yacine Brahimi, Mbwana Aly Samatta, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Baghdad Bounedjah

Substitutes: Djigui Diarra, Azubuike Okechukwu, Kelechi Nwakali, Zinedane Ferhat, Adama Traore, Victor Osimhen, Kermit Ereamus.